

**NEWS RELEASE** 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Allison Hersh Capricorn Communications 912.441.1285 pr@capricorncomm.com

# Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office Announces Pause in Processing Property Tax Payments July 23-August 5

**SAVANNAH, Ga. (July 21, 2022)** – The <u>Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office</u> announced today that the office will be unable to accept or process 2022 Chatham County property tax payments from Saturday, July 23 through Friday, August 5 due to the anticipated annual Tax Digest preparation.

"This important, routine step in the process of compiling the Tax Digest for Tax Year 2022 enables us to accurately update our records and to fulfill our responsibilities to local taxpayers," said Chatham County Tax Commissioner Sonya L. Jackson. "We appreciate the citizens' patience as we work to perform our due diligence on their behalf."

Chatham County citizens are expected to be able to resume making property tax payments on August 6. This brief pause in payment acceptance and processing does not affect citizens' responsibility to pay their property taxes in full.

Auto tag renewal payments can still be made online, via U.S. Mail, at local Kroger kiosks or at any Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office location during this period.

The Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office operates three convenient locations to serve citizens, including:

### **Downtown Office:**

222 W Oglethorpe Ave., Suite 107 Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m. closed for lunch 1-2 p.m.

#### Southside Office:

1145 Eisenhower Dr. Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., closed for lunch 1-2 p.m.

#### Westside Office:

295 Police Memorial Drive (off Chatham Parkway) Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. closed for lunch 1-2 p.m.

Walk-ins are welcome, and current wait times are monitored in real time on the Tax Commissioner's Office web page. Citizens are invited to contact the Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office at **(912) 652-7100** or tax@chathamcounty.org with any questions.

## ABOUT THE CHATHAM COUNTY TAX COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE:

Under State law, the Chatham County Tax Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the billing and collection of current and delinquent ad valorem taxes due the State of Georgia, Board of Education, Transit Authority, Chatham County, Chatham County municipalities, and Special Service District on real and personal property as well as mobile home taxes, public utility taxes, timber taxes, heavy duty taxes, street lighting fees, and solid waste fees. In addition, the Tax Commissioner is responsible for the billing and collection of ad valorem taxes and Title Ad Valorem Tax due the State of Georgia, Board of Education, Transit Authority, and Chatham County municipalities at the time of title application and tag renewal. Under the leadership of Chatham County Tax Commissioner Sonya L. Jackson, the Tax Commissioner's Office operates three convenient offices to serve citizens, including a Downtown Savannah location at 222 W. Oglethorpe Ave. #107, a Southside Savannah location at 1145 Eisenhower Dr., and a West Chatham location at 295 Police Memorial Dr. For more information, please contact (912) 652-7100 or tax@chathamcounty.org. Learn more: tax.chathamcountyga.gov.