

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact:
Allison Hersh
Capricorn Communications
912.441.1285 | pr@capricorncomm.com

Chatham County Property Tax Payments Are Due on Sat., June 1, Eisenhower Tax Office to Offer Extended Hours to Serve Local Residents

SAVANNAH, Ga. (May 23, 2024) – The <u>Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office</u> is reminding local homeowners that Chatham County property tax bills for the first half of 2024 are due on <u>Saturday</u>, <u>June 1</u>.

The Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Southside office at 1145 Eisenhower Dr. will be open on Saturday, June 1 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on to accept payments from local property owners.

"We offer online, mail and in-person payment options to make it as convenient as possible for Chatham County homeowners to pay their property tax bills," said Chatham County Tax Commissioner Sonya L. Jackson. "We also want to remind homeowners that if their mortgage company pays their property taxes directly through an escrow account, they do not need to make a duplicate payment."

For added convenience, homeowners can <u>view, print, or pay property taxes online</u> with an e-check, debit or credit card. Property taxes can also be paid by mail or <u>in person</u> during regular business hours at the following Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Offices:

Downtown Office

222 W. Oglethorpe Ave., Suite 107

Southside Office:

1145 Eisenhower Dr.

Westside Office:

295 Police Memorial Drive (off Chatham Parkway)

Chatham County property tax payments are due on June 1 and November 15 of each year.

Chatham County residents can <u>schedule an appointment online</u> or <u>check current wait times</u> at any Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office by visiting <u>tax.chathamcountyga.gov</u>. Please contact the Chatham County Tax Commissioner's Office at (912) 652-7100 or <u>tax@chathamcounty.org</u> with any questions.

ABOUT THE CHATHAM COUNTY TAX COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE:

Under State law, the Chatham County Tax Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the billing and collection of current and delinquent ad valorem taxes due the State of Georgia, Board of Education, Transit Authority, Chatham County, Chatham County municipalities, and Special Service District on real and personal property as well as mobile home taxes, public utility taxes, timber taxes, heavy duty taxes, street lighting fees, and solid waste fees. In addition, the Tax Commissioner is responsible for the billing and collection of ad valorem taxes and Title Ad Valorem Tax due the State of Georgia, Board of Education, Transit Authority, and Chatham County municipalities at the time of title application and tag renewal. Under the leadership of Chatham County Tax Commissioner Sonya L. Jackson, the Tax Commissioner's Office operates three convenient offices to serve citizens, including a Downtown Savannah location at 222 W. Oglethorpe Ave. #107, a Southside Savannah location at 1145 Eisenhower Dr., and a West Chatham location at 295 Police Memorial Dr. Satellite offices in Bloomingdale, Port Wentworth and Wilmington Island are also open by appointment only. For more information, please contact (912) 652-7100 or tax@chathamcounty.org. Learn more: tax.chathamcountyga.gov.