# YOUR BENEFIT PLAN

# CHATHAM COUNTY

Long Term Disability

# **Maryland**

The group insurance policy providing coverage under this certificate was issued in a jurisdiction other than Maryland and may not provide all of the benefits required by Maryland law.

# State Notices

**IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR RESIDENTS OF CERTAIN STATES:** There are state-specific requirements that may change the provisions described in the group insurance certificate. If you live in a state that has such requirements, those requirements will apply to your coverage. State-specific requirements that may apply to your coverage are summarized below. In addition, updated state-specific requirements are published on our website. You may access the website at <a href="https://www.thehartford.com/">https://www.thehartford.com/</a>. If you are unable to access this website, want to receive a printed copy of these requirements, or have any questions or complaints regarding any of these requirements or any aspect of your coverage, please contact your Employee Benefits Manager; or you may contact us as follows:

# The Hartford Group Benefits Division, Customer Service P.O. Box 2999 Hartford, CT 06104-2999 1-800-523-2233

If you have a complaint and contacts between you, us, your agent, or another representative have failed to produce a satisfactory solution to the problem, some states require we provide you with additional contact information. If your state requires such disclosure, the contact information is listed below with the other state requirements and notices.

The Hartford complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. The Hartford does not exclude or treat people differently for any reason prohibited by law with respect to their race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex.

If your policy is governed under the laws of Maryland, any of the benefits, provisions or terms that apply to the state you reside in as shown below will apply only to the extent that such state requirements are more beneficial to you.

# Alaska:

1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.

# Arizona:

1. **NOTICE:** The Certificate may not provide all benefits and protections provided by law in Arizona. Please read the Certificate carefully.

# Arkansas:

1. For Your Questions and Complaints:

Arkansas Insurance Department Consumer Services Division 1200 West Third Street Little Rock, AR 72201-1904 **Toll Free:**1(800) 852-5494 **Local:** 1(501) 371-2640

2. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.

# California:

1. NOTICE: READ YOUR CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY

You have a 30 day right from Your original Certificate Effective Date to examine Your certificate. If You are not satisfied, You may return it to Us within 30 days of Your original Certificate Effective Date. In that event, We will consider it void from its Effective Date and any premiums paid will be refunded. Any claims paid under The Policy during the initial 30 day period will be deducted from the refund.

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT YOU RETAIN ALL RIGHTS WITH RESPECT TO YOUR POLICY/CERTIFICATE AGAINST YOUR ORIGINAL INSURER IN THE EVENT THE ASSUMING INSURER IS UNABLE TO FULFILL ITS OBLIGATIONS. IN SUCH EVENT YOUR ORIGINAL INSURER REMAINS LIABLE TO YOU NOTWITHSTANDING THE TERMS OF ITS ASSUMPTION AGREEMENT.

2. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the General Provisions section of the Certificate, does not apply Version: May 2020 to you. The following requirement applies to you:

# Eligibility Determination: How will We determine Your eligibility for benefits?

We, and not Your Employer or plan administrator, have the responsibility to fairly, thoroughly, objectively and timely investigate, evaluate and determine Your eligibility or Your beneficiaries for benefits for any claim You or Your beneficiaries make on The Policy. We will:

- 1) obtain with Your cooperation and authorization if required by law, only such information that is necessary to evaluate Your claim and decide whether to accept or deny Your claim for benefits. We may obtain this information from Your Notice of Claim, submitted proofs of loss, statements, or other materials provided by You or others on Your behalf; or, at Our expense We may obtain necessary information, or have You physically examined when and as often as We may reasonably require while the claim is pending. In addition, and at Your option and at Your expense, You may provide Us and We will consider any other information, including but not limited to, reports from a Physician or other expert of Your choice. You should provide Us with all information that You want Us to consider regarding Your claim;
- 2) as a part of Our routine operations, We will apply the terms of The Policy for making decisions, including decisions on eligibility, receipt of benefits and claims, or explaining policies, procedures and processes;
- if We approve Your claim, We will review Our decision to approve Your claim for benefits as often as is reasonably necessary to determine Your continued eligibility for benefits;
- 4) if We deny Your claim, We will explain in writing to You or Your beneficiaries the basis for an adverse determination in accordance with The Policy as described in the provision entitled **Claim Denial**.

In the event We deny Your claim for benefits, in whole or in part, You can appeal the decision to Us. If You choose to appeal Our decision, the process You must follow is set forth in The Policy provision entitled **Claim Appeal**. If You do not appeal the decision to Us, then the decision will be Our final decision.

# 3. For Your Questions and Complaints:

State of California Insurance Department Consumer Communications Bureau 300 South Spring Street, South Tower Los Angeles, CA 90013 **Toll Free:** 1(800) 927-HELP **TDD Number:** 1(800) 482-4833 **Web Address:** www.insurance.ca.gov

# Colorado:

- 1. The **Surviving Children** definition within the **Survivor Income Benefit** will always include children related to You by civil union.
- 2. The Surviving Spouse definition within the Survivor Income Benefit will always include civil unions.
- 3. Entering a civil union, terminating a civil union, the death of a party to a civil union or a party to a civil union losing employment, which results in a loss of group insurance, will all constitute as a **Change in Family Status**.
- 4. The **Complications of Pregnancy** provision, if shown in the **Definitions** section of the Certificate, is revised as follows:

**Complications of Pregnancy** means a condition whose diagnosis is distinct from pregnancy but adversely affected or caused by pregnancy, such as:

- 1) acute nephritis or nephrosis;
- 2) cardiac decompensation;
- 3) missed abortion; and
- 4) similar medical and surgical conditions of comparable severity.

Complications of Pregnancy will also include:

- 1) pre-eclampsia;
- 2) placenta previa;
- 3) physician prescribed bed rest for intra-uterine growth retardation, funneling, incompetent cervix;
- 4) termination of ectopic pregnancy;
- 5) spontaneous termination of pregnancy, occurring during a period of gestation in which a viable birth is not possible;
- 6) non-elective Cesarean section; and
- 7) similar medical and surgical conditions of comparable severity.

However, the term Complications of Pregnancy will not include:

- 1) elective Cesarean section;
- 2) false labor, occasional spotting, or morning sickness;
- 3) hyperemesis gravidarum; or
- 4) similar conditions associated with the management of a difficult pregnancy not consisting of a nosologically distinct Complication of Pregnancy.

#### Florida:

# 1. NOTICE: The benefits of the policy providing you coverage may be governed primarily by the laws of a state other than Florida.

#### Georgia:

1. **NOTICE:** The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based upon his or her status as a victim of family abuse.

#### Idaho:

# 1. For Your Questions and Complaints:

Idaho Department of Insurance Consumer Affairs 700 W State Street, 3rd Floor PO Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0043 **Toll Free:** 1-800-721-3272 **Web Address:** www.DOI.Idaho.gov

# Illinois:

- 1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.
- For Your Questions and Complaints: Illinois Department of Insurance Consumer Services Station Springfield, Illinois 62767 Consumer Assistance: 1(866) 445-5364 Officer of Consumer Health Insurance: 1(877) 527-9431
- 3. In accordance with Illinois law, insurers are required to provide the following **NOTICE** to applicants of insurance policies issued in Illinois.

# STATE OF ILLINOIS The Religious Freedom Protection and Civil Union Act Effective June 1, 2011

The Religious Freedom Protection and Civil Union Act ("the Act") creates a legal relationship between two persons of the same or opposite sex who form a civil union. The Act provides that the parties to a civil union are entitled to the same legal obligations, responsibilities, protections and benefits that are afforded or recognized by the laws of Illinois to spouses. The law further provides that a party to a civil union shall be included in any definition or use of the terms "spouse," "family," "immediate family," "dependent," "next of kin," and other terms descriptive of spousal relationships as those terms are used throughout Illinois law. This includes the terms "marriage" or "married," or variations thereon. Insurance policies are required to provide identical benefits and protections to both civil unions and marriages. If policies of insurance provide coverage for children, the children of civil unions must also be provided coverage. The Act also requires recognition of civil unions or same sex civil unions or marriages legally entered into in other jurisdictions.

For more information regarding the Act, refer to 750 ILCS 75/1 *et seq*. Examples of the interaction between the Act and existing law can be found in the Illinois Insurance Facts, Civil Unions and Insurance Benefits document available on the Illinois Department of Insurance's website at www.insurance.illinois.gov.

# Indiana:

 For Your Questions and Complaints: Public Information/Market Conduct Indiana Department of Insurance 311 W. Washington St. Suite 300 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2787 1(317) 232-2395

# Kansas:

1. The following requirement applies to you:

# Policy Interpretation: Who interprets Policy terms and conditions?

Pursuant to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended (ERISA), Your Employer has delegated to Us the fiduciary responsibility to determine eligibility for benefits and to construe and interpret all terms and provisions of The Policy. Therefore, We are a fiduciary for The Policy and We have the continuing duty to act prudently and in the interest of You, Your beneficiaries and the other plan participants. If You have a claim for benefits which is denied or ignored, in whole or in part, then You may file suit in state or federal court for a review of Your eligibility or entitlement to benefits under The Policy. This provision only applies where the interpretation of The Policy is governed by ERISA.

# Louisiana:

1. The following requirement is applicable to you:

**Reinstatement after Military Service:** *Can coverage be reinstated after return from active military service?* If Your or Your Dependents' coverage ends because You or Your Dependents enter active military service, coverage may be reinstated, provided You request such reinstatement upon Your or Your Dependents' release from active military service.

The reinstated coverage will:

- 1) be the same coverage amounts in force on the date coverage ended;
- 2) not be subject to any Eligibility Waiting Period for Coverage or Evidence of Insurability; and
- 3) be subject to all the terms and provisions of The Policy.

#### Maine:

1. **NOTICE:** The benefits under the policy are subject to reduction due to other sources of income.

This means that your benefits will be reduced by the amount of any other benefits for loss of time provided to you or for which you are eligible as a result of the same period of disability for which you claim benefits under the policy.

Other sources of income are plans or arrangements of coverage that provide disability-related benefits such as Worker's Compensation or other similar governmental programs or laws, or disability-related benefits received from your employer or as the result of your employment, membership or association with any group, union, association or other organization. Other sources of income include disability-related benefits under the United States Social Security Act or an alternate governmental plan, the Railroad Retirement Act, and other similar plans or acts. Other sources of income may also include certain disability-related or retirement benefits that you receive because of your retirement unless you were receiving them prior to becoming disabled.

What comprises other sources of income under the policy is determined by the nature of the policyholder. Therefore, we strongly urge you to **Read Your Certificate Carefully.** A full description of the plans and types of plans considered to be other sources of income under the policy will be found in the definition of "Other Income Benefits" located in the Definitions section of your certificate.

2. **NOTICE:** The laws of the State of Maine require notification of the right to designate a third party to receive notice of cancellation, to change such a designation and, to have the Policy reinstated if the insured suffers from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity and the ground for cancellation was the insured's nonpayment of premium or other lapse or default on the part of the insured.

Within 10 days after a request by an insured, a Third Party Notice Request Form shall be mailed or personally delivered to the insured.

3. The following requirement is applicable to you:

# **Reinstatement:** Can my coverage be reinstated after it ends?

We will reinstate The Policy upon receipt of all current and late premiums if:

- You, any person authorized to act on Your behalf, or any of Your dependents may request reinstatement of The Policy within 90 days following cancellation of The Policy for nonpayment of premium provided You suffered from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time the contract cancelled; and
- 2) all current and late premium payments are received within 15 days of Our request.

We may request a medical demonstration, at Your expense, that You suffered from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time of cancellation of The Policy.

#### Massachusetts:

- 1. The **Surviving Children** definition in the **Survivor Income Benefit** will also include a child in the process of adoption.
- 2. The following continuation requirement is applicable to you

In accordance with Massachusetts state law, if Your insurance terminates because Your employment terminates or You cease to be a member of an eligible class, Your insurance will automatically be continued until the end of a 31 day period from the date Your insurance terminates or the date You become eligible for similar benefits under another group plan, whichever occurs first. You must pay the required premium for continued coverage.

Additionally, if Your insurance terminates because Your employment is terminated as a result of a plant closing or covered partial closing, Your insurance may be continued. You must elect in writing to continue insurance and pay the required premium for continued coverage. Coverage will cease on the earliest to occur of the following dates:

- 1) 90 days from the date You were no longer eligible for coverage as a Full-time Active Employee;
- 2) the date You become eligible for similar benefits under another group plan;
- 3) the last day of the period for which required premium is made;
- 4) the date the group insurance policy terminates; or
- 5) the date Your Employer ceases to be a Participant Employer, if applicable.

#### Michigan:

1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.

### Minnesota:

1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.

#### Missouri:

1. The **Exclusions** provision shall only exclude for intentionally self-inflicted Injury, suicide or attempted suicide, which occur while You are sane.

# Montana:

- 1. **NOTICE:** Conformity with Montana statutes: The provisions of the certificate conform to the minimum requirements of Montana law and control over any conflicting statutes of any state in which the insured resides on or after the effective date of the certificate.
- 2. Pregnancy will be covered, the same as any other sickness, anything in The Policy to the contrary notwithstanding.
- 3. The definition of **Physician** in the **Definitions** section will include the following freedom of choice language: You have full freedom of choice in the selection of any health care provider for treatment within the scope and limitations of his or her practice, including a licensed physician, physician assistant, dentist, osteopath, chiropractor, optometrist, podiatrist, psychologist, licensed social worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, acupuncturist, naturopathic physician, physical therapist or advanced practice registered nurse.

# New Hampshire:

1. If Your claim is denied, You may appeal to Us within 180 days of receipt of the claim denial, subject to the other

terms of the Claim Appeal provision.

- 2. The time period stated for legal action to start in the Legal Actions provision shown in the General Provisions section can not be less than 3 years after the time Proof of Loss is required to be given.
- The time period for receipt of Medical Care, as described in the Pre-existing Condition definition of the Exclusions and Limitations section, is 3 consecutive months. No benefit or increase in benefits for a Preexisting Condition will be payable until You have been treatment free or continuously insured for 9 consecutive months, or less respectively, if shown in the Certificate.
- 4. Termination of coverage will not affect benefits otherwise payable for a claim incurred while the Policy is in force.
- 5. **Notice**: This is an ancillary health certificate. This certificate provides limited benefits. Benefits provided are supplemental and are not intended to cover all medical expenses.
- 6. Notice: READ YOUR CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY You have a 30 day right to examine Your certificate. If You are not satisfied, You may return it to Us within 30 days from the later of Your original Certificate Effective Date or the date The Policy was received by the Policyholder. In that event, We will consider it void from its Effective Date and any premiums paid will be refunded. Any claims paid under The Policy during the initial 30 day period will be deducted from the refund.
- 7. **Notice**: The Policy does not provide comprehensive health insurance coverage. It is not intended to satisfy the individual mandate of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) or provide the minimum essential coverage required by the ACA (often referred to as "Major Medical Coverage"). It does not provide coverage for hospital, medical, surgical, or major medical expenses.

# New Jersey:

- 1. The **Surviving Children** definition within the **Survivor Income Benefit** will always include children related to You by civil union.
- 2. The **Surviving Spouse** definition within the **Survivor Income Benefit** will always include civil unions and domestic partners, provided You continue to meet the requirements described in the domestic partner affidavit, civil union license or civil union certificate or as required by law. Same sex relationships entered into under the laws of another State or Country, which closely approximate a civil union or a domestic partnership under New Jersey law, will be recognized as civil unions or domestic partners under New Jersey law.

# New York:

- 1. The **Other Income Benefits** definition will not include a portion of a settlement or judgment of a lawsuit that represents or compensates for Your loss of earnings.
- 2. The Subrogation provision, if shown in the General Provisions section of the Certificate, is not applicable.
- 3. The **Reimbursement** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.
- 4. If the definition of **Surviving Spouse** within the **Survivor Income Benefit** requires the completion of a domestic partner affidavit, the following requirement applies to you:

The domestic partner affidavit must be notarized and requires that You and Your domestic partner meet all of the following criteria:

- 1) you are both are legally and mentally competent to consent to contract in the state in which you reside;
- 2) you are not related by blood in a manner that would bar marriage under laws of the state in which you reside;
- 3) you have been living together on a continuous basis prior to the date of the application;
- 4) neither of you have been registered as a member of another domestic partnership within the last six months; and
- 5) you provide proof of cohabitation (e.g., a driver's license, tax return or other sufficient proof).

The domestic partner affidavit further requires that You and Your domestic partner provide proof of financial interdependence in the form of at least two of the following:

- 1) a joint bank account;
- 2) a joint credit card or charge card;
- 3) joint obligation on a loan;
- 4) status as an authorized signatory on the partner's bank account, credit card or charge card;
- 5) joint ownership of holdings or investments, residence, real estate other than residence, major items of personal property (e.g., appliances, furniture), or a motor vehicle;
- 6) listing of both partners as tenants on the lease of the shared residence;

- 7) shared rental payments of residence (need not be shared 50/50)
- 8) listing of both partners as tenants on a lease, or shared rental payments, for property other than residence;
- 9) a common household and shared household expenses (e.g., grocery bills, utility bills, telephone bills, etc. and need not be shared 50/50);
- 10) shared household budget for purposes of receiving government benefits;
- 11) status of one as representative payee for the other's government benefits;
- 12) joint responsibility for child care (e.g., school documents, guardianship);
- 13) shared child-care expenses (e.g., babysitting, day care, school bills, etc. and need not be shared 50/50);
- 14) execution of wills naming each other as executor and/or beneficiary;
- 15) designation as beneficiary under the other's life insurance policy;
- 16) designation as beneficiary under the other's retirement benefits account;
- 17) mutual grant of durable power of attorney;
- 18) mutual grant of authority to make health care decisions (e.g., health care power of attorney);
- 19) affidavit by creditor or other individual able to testify to partners' financial interdependence;
- 20) other item(s) of proof sufficient to establish economic interdependency under the circumstances of the particular case.

# North Carolina:

- 1. The **Subrogation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.
- 2. The Other Income Benefits definition will not include a mandatory "no-fault" automobile insurance plan.
- 3. You are not required to be under the **Regular Care of a Physician** if qualified medical professionals have determined that further medical care and treatment would be of no benefit to You.
- 4. The **Exclusions** provision shall only exclude for Workers' Compensation if the final adjudication of the Worker's Compensation claim determined that benefits are paid, or may be paid, if duly claimed.
- 5. Within the **Misstatements** provision reference to fraudulent misstatements will not apply to You.
- 6. The **Sending Proof of Loss** provision is amended to state that written **Proof of Loss** must be sent to Us within 180 days following the completion of the **Elimination Period**.
- 7. The **Claims to be Paid** provision is amended to state that We may pay up to \$3,000 to a person who is Related to You and who, at Our sole discretion, is entitled to it. Any such payment shall fulfill Our responsibility for the amount paid.
- 8. Notice of Claim may also be given to Our representative, if applicable.
- 9. NOTICE: UNDER NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL STATUTE SECTION 58-50-40, NO PERSON, EMPLOYER, FINANCIAL AGENT, TRUSTEE, OR THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR, WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PAYMENT OF GROUP LIFE INSURANCE, GROUP HEALTH OR GROUP HEALTH PLAN PREMIUMS, SHALL:
  - 1. CAUSE THE CANCELLATION OR NONRENEWAL OF GROUP LIFE INSURANCE, GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE, HOSPITAL, MEDICAL, OR DENTAL SERVICE CORPORATION PLAN, MULTIPLE EMPLOYER WELFARE ARRANGEMENT, OR GROUP HEALTH PLAN COVERAGES AND THE CONSEQUENTIAL LOSS OF THE COVERAGES OF THE PERSON INSURED, BY WILLFULLY FAILING TO PAY THOSE PREMIUMS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS OF THE INSURANCE OR PLAN CONTRACT; AND
  - 2. WILLFULLY FAIL TO DELIVER, AT LEAST 45 DAYS BEFORE THE TERMINATION OF THOSE COVERAGES, TO ALL PERSONS COVERED BY THE GROUP POLICY WRITTEN NOTICE OF THE PERSON'S INTENTION TO STOP PAYMENT OF PREMIUMS. VIOLATION OF THIS LAW IS A FELONY. ANY PERSON VIOLATING THIS LAW IS ALSO SUBJECT TO A COURT ORDER REQUIRING THE PERSON TO COMPENSATE PERSONS INSURED FOR EXPENSES OR LOSSES INCURRED AS A RESULT OF THE TERMINATION OF THE INSURANCE.

# IMPORTANT TERMINATION INFORMATION

# YOUR INSURANCE MAY BE CANCELLED BY THE COMPANY. PLEASE READ THE TERMINATION PROVISION IN THE CERTIFICATE.

THE CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE PROVIDES COVERAGE UNDER A GROUP MASTER POLICY. THE CERTIFICATE PROVIDES ALL OF THE BENEFITS MANDATED BY THE NORTH CAROLINA

# INSURANCE CODE, BUT YOU MAY NOT RECEIVE ALL OF THE PROTECTIONS PROVIDED BY A POLICY ISSUED IN NORTH CAROLINA AND GOVERNED BY ALL OF THE LAWS OF NORTH CAROLINA.

### PRE-EXISTING LIMITATION READ CAREFULLY NO BENEFITS WILL BE PAYABLE UNDER THIS PLAN FOR PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS WHICH ARE NOT COVERED UNDER THE PRIOR PLAN. PLEASE READ THE LIMITATIONS IN THE CERTIFICATE.

# READ YOUR CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.

# Oregon:

- 1. The definition of **Surviving Spouse** within the **Survivor Income Benefit** will include Your domestic partner provided You have registered as domestic partners with a government agency or office where such registration is available. You will not be required to provide proof of such registration.
- 2. The **Surviving Children** definition within the **Survivor Income Benefit** will include children related to You by domestic partnership.
- 3. The following Jury Duty continuation applies for Employers with 10 or more employees:

<u>Jury Duty:</u> If You are scheduled to serve or are required to serve as a juror, Your coverage may be continued until the last day of Your Jury Duty, provided You:

- 1) elected to have Your coverage continued; and
- 2) provided notice of the election to Your Employer in accordance with Your Employer's notification policy.

# Rhode Island:

1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable.

# South Carolina:

- 1. The **Physical Examinations and Autopsy** provision will state that such autopsy must be performed during the period of contestability and must take place in the state of South Carolina.
- If You become insured under The Policy on the Policy Effective Date and were insured under the Prior Policy within 30 days of being covered under The Policy, the **Pre-existing Condition Limitation** will end on the earliest of:
  - 1) the Policy Effective date, if Your coverage for the Disability was not limited by a pre-existing condition restriction under the Prior Policy; or
  - 2) the date the restriction would have ceased to apply had the Prior Policy remained in force, if Your coverage was limited by a pre-existing condition limitation under the Prior Policy.

This is subject to the other terms and conditions of the **Continuity From a Prior Policy** provision.

# South Dakota:

- 1. The definition of **Physician** can include You or a person Related to You by blood or marriage in the event that the Physician is the only one in the area and is acting within the scope of their normal employment.
- 2. The **Other Income Benefits** definition will not include the amount of any benefit for loss of income, provided to Your family, Your Spouse or Your Spouse's family.

# Texas:

1. The **Policy Interpretation** provision, if shown in the **General Provisions** section of the Certificate, is not applicable

# 2. IMPORTANT NOTICE

To obtain information or make a complaint:

You may call The Hartford's toll-free telephone number for information or to make a complaint at:

# **AVISO IMPORTANTE**

Para obtener información o para presentar una queja:

Usted puede llamar al número de teléfono gratuito de The Hartford's para obtener información o para

presentar una queja al:

# 1-800-523-2233

You may also write to The Hartford at:

P.O. Box 2999 Hartford, CT 06104-2999

You may contact the Texas Department of Insurance to obtain information on companies, coverages, rights, or complaints at:

1-800-252-3439

You may write the Texas Department of Insurance:

P.O. Box 149104 Austin, TX 78714-9104 Fax: (512) 490-1007

Web: <u>www.tdi.texas.gov</u> E-mail: <u>ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov</u>

# PREMIUM OR CLAIM DISPUTES:

Should you have a dispute concerning your premium or about a claim, you should contact the agent or the company first. If the dispute is not resolved, you may contact the Texas Department of Insurance.

# ATTACH THIS NOTICE TO YOUR POLICY:

This notice is for information only and does not become a part or condition of the attached document.

# 1-800-523-2233

Usted también puede escribir a The Hartford:

P.O. Box 2999 Hartford, CT 06104-2999

Usted puede comunicarse con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas para obtener información sobre compañías, coberturas, derechos, o quejas al:

1-800-252-3439

Usted puede escribir al Departamento de Seguros de Texas a:

P.O. Box 149104 Austin, TX 78714-9104 Fax: (512) 490-1007

Web: <u>www.tdi.texas.gov</u> E-mail: <u>ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov</u>

# DISPUTAS POR PRIMAS DE SEGUROS O RECLAMACIONES:

Si tiene una disputa relacionada con su prima de seguro o con una reclamación, usted debe comunicarse con el agente o la compañía primero. Si la disputa no es resuelta, usted puede comunicarse con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas.

# ADJUNTE ESTE AVISO A SU PÓLIZA:

Este aviso es solamente para propósitos informativos y no se convierte en parte o en condición del documento adjunto.

# Utah:

1. If the **Sending Proof of Loss** provision provides a timeframe in which proof must be submitted before it affects Your claim, this time limitation shall not apply to You.

# Vermont:

1. The following requirement applies:

**<u>Purpose</u>**: Vermont law requires that health insurers offer coverage to parties to a civil union that is equivalent to coverage provided to married persons.

**Definitions, Terms, Conditions and Provisions:** The definitions, terms, conditions or any other provisions of the policy, contract, certificate and/or riders and endorsements are hereby superseded as follows:

- Terms that mean or refer to a marital relationship, or that may be construed to mean or refer to a marital relationship, such as "marriage", "spouse", "husband", "wife", "dependent", "next of kin", "relative", "beneficiary", "survivor", "immediate family" and any other such terms, include the relationship created by a civil union established according to Vermont law.
- 2) Terms that mean or refer to the inception or dissolution of a marriage, such as "date of marriage", "divorce decree", "termination of marriage" and any other such terms include the inception or dissolution of a civil union established according to Vermont law.
- 3) Terms that mean or refer to family relationships arising from a marriage, such as "family", "immediate family", "dependent", "children", "next of kin", "relative", "beneficiary", "survivor" and any other such terms include family relationships created by a civil union established according to Vermont law.

- 4) "Dependent" means a spouse, a party to a civil union established according to Vermont law, and a child or children (natural, stepchild, legally adopted or a minor or disabled child who is dependent on the insured for support and maintenance) who is born to or brought to a marriage or to a civil union established according to Vermont law.
- 5) "Child or covered child" means a child (natural, step-child, legally adopted or a minor or disabled child who is dependent on the insured for support and maintenance) who is born to or brought to a marriage or to a civil union established according to Vermont law.

# CAUTION: FEDERAL LAW RIGHTS MAY OR MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE

Vermont law grants parties to a civil union the same benefits, protections and responsibilities that flow from marriage under state law. However, some or all of the benefits, protections and responsibilities related to health insurance that are available to married persons under federal law may not be available to parties to a civil union. For example, federal law, the Employee Income Retirement Security Act of 1974 known as "ERISA", controls the employer/employee relationship with regard to determining eligibility for enrollment in private employer health benefit plans. Because of ERISA, Act 91 does not state requirements pertaining to a private employer's enrollment of a party to a civil union in an ERISA employee welfare benefit plan. However, governmental employers (not federal government) are required to provide health benefits to the dependents of a party to a civil union if the public employer provides health benefits to the dependents of married persons. Federal law also controls group health insurance continuation rights under COBRA for employers with 20 or more employees as well as the Internal Revenue Code treatment of health insurance premiums. As a result, parties to a civil union and their families may or may not have access to certain benefits under the policy, contract, certificate, rider or endorsement that derive from federal law. You are advised to seek expert advice to determine your rights under this contract.

# 2. Vermont Mental Health and Substance Abuse Exclusion and Limitation Parity:

If You become Disabled as a legal resident of Vermont and The Policy covers 25 or more legal residents of Vermont, the following applies:

- a. Disability due to Mental Illness or Substance Abuse may not be excluded from coverage; and
- b. the Maximum Duration of Benefits for Disability due to Mental Illness or Substance Abuse may not be limited. The Maximum Duration of Benefits shown in the Schedule of Insurance shall apply to You.

# Virginia:

# 1. For Your Questions and Complaints:

Life and Health Division Bureau of Insurance P.O. Box 1157 Richmond, VA 23209 1(804) 371-9691 (Local number) 1(800) 552-7945 (Virginia toll free number) 1(877) 310-6560 (National toll free number)

# Washington:

1. The following continuation applies to you:

<u>General Work Stoppage (including a strike or lockout)</u>: If Your employment terminates due to a cessation of active work as the result of a general work stoppage (including a strike or lockout), Your coverage shall be continued during the work stoppage for a period not exceeding 6 months. If the work stoppage ends, this continuation will cease immediately.

# Wisconsin:

# 1. For Your Questions and Complaints:

To request a Complaint Form: Office of the Commissioner of Insurance Complaints Department P.O. Box 7873 Madison, WI 53707-7873 1(800) 236-8517 (outside of Madison) 1(608) 266-0103 (in Madison)



# HARTFORD LIFE AND ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY

One Hartford Plaza Hartford, Connecticut 06155 (A stock insurance company)

# The Hartford<sup>®</sup> is The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. and its subsidiaries.

# **CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE**

Policyholder: CHATHAM COUNTY Policy Number: GLT-402962 Policy Effective Date: January 1, 2016 Policy Anniversary Date: January 1, 2021

We have issued The Policy to the Policyholder. Our name, the Policyholder's name and the Policy Number are shown above. The provisions of The Policy, which are important to You, are summarized in this certificate consisting of this form and any additional forms which have been made a part of this certificate. This certificate replaces any other certificate We may have given to You earlier under The Policy. The Policy alone is the only contract under which payment will be made. Any difference between The Policy and this certificate will be settled according to the provisions of The Policy on file with Us at Our home office. The Policy may be inspected at the office of the Policyholder.

Signed for the Company Jonathan Bennett, President Kevin Barnett, Secretary

# **READ YOUR CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY**

You have a 30 day right from Your original Certificate Effective Date to examine Your certificate. If You are not satisfied, You may return it to Us within 30 days of Your original Certificate Effective Date. In that event, We will consider it void from its Effective Date and any premiums paid will be refunded. Any claims paid under The Policy during the initial 30 day period will be deducted from the refund.

# PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS

Your certificate may limit or exclude benefit payment due to a pre-existing condition. A pre-existing condition is a condition for which You received treatment prior to the effective date of Your insurance coverage or an increase in coverage. Please refer to the Exclusions section of Your certificate for more detailed information.

# A note on capitalization in this certificate:

Capitalization of a term, not normally capitalized according to the rules of standard punctuation, indicates a word or phrase that is a defined term in The Policy or refers to a specific provision contained herein.

# TABLE OF CONTENTS

SCHEDULE OF INSURANCE	
Cost of Coverage	
Eligible Class(es) For Coverage	
Eligibility Waiting Period for Coverage	
Monthly Benefit	
ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT	
Eligible Persons	
Eligibility for Coverage	
Enrollment	
PERIOD OF COVERAGE	
Effective Date	
Deferred Effective Date	
Termination	
Continuation Provisions	
BENEFITS	
Disability Benefit	
Mental Illness and Substance Abuse Benefits	
Calculation of Monthly Benefit	
Termination of Payment	
Family Care Credit Benefit	21
Survivor Income Benefit	
Workplace Modification Benefit	
EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS	
Pre-existing Condition Limitation	
GENERAL PROVISIONS	
DEFINITIONS	

# SCHEDULE OF INSURANCE

The Policy of long term Disability insurance provides You with long term income protection if You become Disabled from a covered injury, sickness or pregnancy.

# The benefits described herein are those in effect as of January 1, 2021.

### Cost of Coverage:

You are not required to contribute toward the cost of coverage.

**Eligible Class(es) For Coverage:** All Full-time Active Employees who are citizens or legal residents of the United States, its territories and protectorates; excluding temporary, leased or seasonal employees.

Full-time Employment: at least 40 hours weekly

#### **Eligibility Waiting Period for Coverage:**

- 1) None if You are working for the Employer on the Policy Effective Date; or
- 2) The first day of the month following 6 month(s) of employment if You start working for the Employer after the Policy Effective Date.

The time period(s) referenced above are continuous.

#### Elimination Period: 120 day(s)

### Maximum Monthly Benefit: \$10,000

#### Minimum Monthly Benefit: The greater of:

- 1) \$100; or
- 2) 10% of the benefit based on Monthly Income Loss before the deduction of Other Income Benefits.

#### Benefit Percentage: 66 2/3%

# **Maximum Duration of Benefits**

### Maximum Duration of Benefits Table

Age When Disabled	Benefits Payable
Prior to Age 63	To Normal Retirement Age or 48 months, if greater
Age 63	To Normal Retirement Age or 42 months, if greater
Age 64	36 months
Age 65	30 months
Age 66	27 months
Age 67	24 months
Age 68	21 months
Age 69 and over	18 months

Normal Retirement Age means the Social Security Normal Retirement Age as stated in the 1983 revision of the United States Social Security Act. It is determined by Your date of birth as follows:

#### Year of Birth **Normal Retirement Age** 1937 or before 65 1938 65 + 2 months 1939 65 + 4 months 1940 65 + 6 months 1941 65 + 8 months 65 + 10 months 1942 1943 thru 1954 66 1955 66 + 2 months

1956	66 + 4 months
1957	66 + 6 months
1958	66 + 8 months
1959	66 + 10 months
1960 or after	67

# **Additional Benefit:**

# Family Care Credit Benefit

see benefit

# Survivor Income Benefit see benefit

# Workplace Modification Benefit

see benefit

# ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT

**Eligible Persons:** *Who is eligible for coverage?* All persons in the class or classes shown in the Schedule of Insurance will be considered Eligible Persons.

Eligibility for Coverage: When will I become eligible?

- You will become eligible for coverage on the later of:
  - 1) the Policy Effective Date; or
  - 2) the date on which You complete the Eligibility Waiting Period for Coverage shown in the Schedule of Insurance, if applicable.

Enrollment: How do I enroll for coverage?

All eligible Active Employees will be enrolled automatically by the Employer.

# PERIOD OF COVERAGE

**Effective Date:** *When does my coverage start?* Your coverage will start on the date You become eligible.

**Deferred Effective Date:** When will my effective date for coverage or a change in my coverage be deferred? If You are absent from work due to:

1) accidental bodily injury;

- 2) sickness;
- 3) Mental Illness;
- 4) Substance Abuse; or
- 5) pregnancy;

on the date Your insurance, or increase in coverage, would otherwise have become effective, Your insurance, or increase in coverage will not become effective until You are Actively at Work one full day.

# **Continuity From A Prior Policy:** Is there continuity of coverage from a Prior Policy?

If You were:

- 1) insured under the Prior Policy; and
- 2) not eligible to receive benefits under the Prior Policy;

on the day before the Policy Effective Date, the Deferred Effective Date provision will not apply.

# Is my coverage under The Policy subject to the Pre-existing Condition Limitation?

If You become insured under The Policy on the Policy Effective Date and were covered under the Prior Policy on the day before the Policy Effective Date, the Pre-existing Conditions Limitation will end on the earliest of:

- 1) the Policy Effective Date, if Your coverage for the Disability was not limited by a pre-existing condition restriction under the Prior Policy; or
- 2) the date the restriction would have ceased to apply had the Prior Policy remained in force, if Your coverage was limited by a pre-existing condition limitation under the Prior Policy.

The amount of the Monthly Benefit payable for a Pre-existing Condition in accordance with the above paragraph will be the lesser of:

- 1) the Monthly Benefit which was paid by the Prior Policy; or
- 2) the Monthly Benefit provided by The Policy.

The Pre-existing Conditions Limitation will apply after the Policy Effective Date to the amount of a benefit increase which results from a change from the Prior Policy to The Policy, a change in benefit options, a change of class or a change in The Policy.

Do I have to satisfy an Elimination Period under The Policy if I was Disabled under the Prior Policy? If You received monthly benefits for disability under the Prior Policy, and You returned to work as a Full-time Active Employee before the Policy Effective Date, then, if within 6 months of Your return to work:

- 1) You have a recurrence of the same disability while covered under The Policy; and
- 2) there are no benefits available for the recurrence under the Prior Policy;

the Elimination Period, which would otherwise apply, will be waived if the recurrence would have been covered without any further elimination period under the Prior Policy.

# Termination: When will my coverage end?

Your coverage will end on the earliest of the following:

- 1) the date The Policy terminates;
- 2) the date The Policy no longer insures Your class;
- 3) the date premium payment is due but not paid;
- 4) the last day of the period for which You make any required premium contribution;
- 5) the date Your Employer terminates Your employment; or
- 6) the date You cease to be a Full-time Active Employee in an eligible class for any reason;

unless continued in accordance with any of the Continuation Provisions.

# **Continuation Provisions:** Can my coverage be continued beyond the date it would otherwise terminate?

Coverage can be continued by Your Employer beyond a date shown in the Termination provision, if Your Employer provides a plan of continuation which applies to all employees the same way. Continued coverage:

- 1) is subject to any reductions in The Policy;
- 2) is subject to payment of premium by the Employer; and
- terminates if:
  - a) The Policy terminates; or
  - b) coverage for Your class terminates.

In any event, Your benefit level, or the amount of earnings upon which Your benefits may be based, will be that in effect on the day before Your coverage was continued. Coverage may be continued in accordance with the above restrictions and as described below:

<u>Leave of Absence:</u> If You are on a documented leave of absence, other than Family and Medical Leave, Your coverage may be continued until the last day of the month following the month in which the leave of absence commenced. If the leave terminates prior to the agreed upon date, this continuation will cease immediately.

<u>Family and Medical Leave</u>: If You are granted a leave of absence, in writing, according to the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, or other applicable state or local law, Your coverage may be continued for up to 12 weeks, or 26 weeks if You qualify for Family Military Leave, or longer if required by other applicable law, following the date Your leave commenced. If the leave terminates prior to the agreed upon date, this continuation will cease immediately.

**Coverage while Disabled:** Does my insurance continue while I am Disabled and no longer an Active Employee? If You are Disabled and You cease to be an Active Employee, Your insurance will be continued:

- 1) during the Elimination Period while You remain Disabled by the same Disability; and
- 2) after the Elimination Period for as long as You are entitled to benefits under The Policy.

Waiver of Premium: Am I required to pay premiums while I am Disabled?

No premium will be due for You:

- 1) after the Elimination Period; and
- 2) for as long as benefits are payable.

**Extension of Benefits for Disability:** Do benefits continue if The Policy terminates?

- If You are entitled to benefits while Disabled and The Policy terminates, benefits:
  - 1) will continue as long as You remain Disabled by the same Disability; but

2) will not be provided beyond the date We would have ceased to pay benefits had the insurance remained in force.

Termination of The Policy for any reason will have no effect on Our liability under this provision.

# BENEFITS

# Disability Benefit: What are my Disability Benefits under The Policy?

We will pay You a Monthly Benefit if You:

- 1) become Disabled while insured under The Policy;
- 2) are Disabled throughout the Elimination Period;
- 3) remain Disabled beyond the Elimination Period; and
- 4) submit Proof of Loss to Us.

Benefits accrue as of the first day after the Elimination Period and are paid monthly. However, benefits will not exceed the Maximum Duration of Benefits.

**Mental Illness and Substance Abuse Benefits:** Are benefits limited for Mental Illness or Substance Abuse? If You are Disabled because of:

- 1) Mental Illness that results from any cause;
- 2) any condition that may result from Mental Illness;
- 3) alcoholism; or
- 4) the non-medical use of narcotics, sedatives, stimulants, hallucinogens, or any other such substance;

then, subject to all other provisions of The Policy, We will limit the Maximum Duration of Benefits.

Benefits will be payable:

- 1) for as long as You are confined in a hospital or other place licensed to provide medical care for the disabling condition; or
- 2) if not confined, or after You are discharged and still Disabled, for a total of 24 months for all such disabilities during Your lifetime.

# **Recurrent Disability:** What happens if I Recover but become Disabled again?

Periods of Recovery during the Elimination Period will not interrupt the Elimination Period, if the number of days You return to work as an Active Employee are less than one-half (1/2) the number of days of Your Elimination Period.

Any day within such period of Recovery, will not count toward the Elimination Period.

After the Elimination Period, if You return to work as an Active Employee and then become Disabled and such Disability is:

- 1) due to the same cause; or
- 2) due to a related cause; and
- 3) within 6 months of the return to work;

the Period of Disability prior to Your return to work and the recurrent Disability will be considered one Period of Disability, provided The Policy remains in force.

If You return to work as an Active Employee for 6 months or more, any recurrence of a Disability will be treated as a new Disability. The new Disability is subject to a new Elimination Period and a new Maximum Duration of Benefits.

Period of Disability means a continuous length of time during which You are Disabled under The Policy.

**Recover or Recovery** means that You are no longer Disabled and have returned to work with the Employer and premiums are being paid for You.

Calculation of Monthly Benefit: Return to Work Incentive: How are my Disability benefits calculated?

If You remain Disabled after the Elimination Period, but work while You are Disabled, We will determine Your Monthly Benefit for a period of up to 12 consecutive months as follows:

- 1) multiply Your Pre-disability Earnings by the Benefit Percentage;
- 2) compare the result with the Maximum Benefit; and
- 3) from the lesser amount, deduct Other Income Benefits.

The result is Your Monthly Benefit. Current Monthly Earnings will not be used to reduce Your Monthly Benefit. However, if the sum of Your Monthly Benefit and Your Current Monthly Earnings exceeds 100% of Your Pre-disability Earnings, We will reduce Your Monthly Benefit by the amount of excess.

The 12 consecutive month period will start on the last to occur of:

- 1) the day You first start work; or
- 2) the end of the Elimination Period.

If You are Disabled and not receiving benefits under the Return to Work Incentive, We will calculate Your Monthly Benefit as follows:

- 1) multiply Your Monthly Income Loss by the Benefit Percentage;
- 2) compare the result with the Maximum Benefit; and
- 3) from the lesser amount, deduct Other Income Benefits.

The result is Your Monthly Benefit.

# **Calculation of Monthly Benefit:** What happens if the sum of my Monthly Benefit, Current Monthly Earnings, and Other Income Benefits exceeds 100% of my Pre-disability Earnings?

If the sum of Your Monthly Benefit, Current Monthly Earnings, and Other Income Benefits exceeds 100% of Your Predisability Earnings, We will reduce Your Monthly Benefit by the amount of the excess. However, Your Monthly Benefit will not be less than the Minimum Monthly Benefit.

If an overpayment occurs, We may recover all or any portion of the overpayment, in accordance with the Overpayment Recovery provision.

# Minimum Monthly Benefit: Is there a Minimum Monthly Benefit?

Your Monthly Benefit will not be less than the Minimum Monthly Benefit shown in the Schedule of Insurance.

# **Partial Month Payment:** How is the benefit calculated for a period of less than a month?

If a Monthly Benefit is payable for a period of less than a month, We will pay 1/30 of the Monthly Benefit for each day You were Disabled.

# Termination of Payment: When will my benefit payments end?

Benefit payments will stop on the earliest of:

- 1) the date You are no longer Disabled;
- 2) the date You fail to furnish Proof of Loss;
- 3) the date You are no longer under the Regular Care of a Physician;
- 4) the date You refuse Our request that You submit to an examination by a Physician or other qualified medical professional;
- 5) the date of Your death;
- 6) the date You refuse to receive recommended treatment that is generally acknowledged by Physicians to cure, correct or limit the disabling condition;
- 7) the last day benefits are payable according to the Maximum Duration of Benefits Table;
- 8) the date Your Current Monthly Earnings:
  - a) are equal to or greater than 80% of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings if You are receiving benefits for being Disabled from Your Occupation; or
  - b) are greater than the lesser of the product of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings and the Benefit Percentage or the Maximum Monthly Benefit if You are receiving benefits for being Disabled from Any Occupation;
- 9) the date no further benefits are payable under any provision in The Policy that limits benefit duration; or
- 10) the date You refuse to participate in a Rehabilitation program, or refuse to cooperate with or try:
  - a) modifications made to the work site or job process to accommodate Your identified medical limitations to enable You to perform the Essential Duties of Your Occupation;
  - b) adaptive equipment or devices designed to accommodate Your identified medical limitations to enable You to perform the Essential Duties of Your Occupation;

- c) modifications made to the work site or job process to accommodate Your identified medical limitations to enable You to perform the Essential Duties of Any Occupation, if You were receiving benefits for being disabled from Any Occupation; or
- adaptive equipment or devices designed to accommodate Your identified medical limitations to enable You to perform the Essential Duties of Any Occupation, if You were receiving benefits for being disabled from Any Occupation;

provided a qualified Physician or other qualified medical professional agrees that such modifications, Rehabilitation program or adaptive equipment accommodate Your medical limitation.

# **Family Care Credit Benefit:** What if I must incur expenses for Family Care Services in order to participate in a Rehabilitation program?

If You are working as part of a program of Rehabilitation, We will, for the purpose of calculating Your benefit, deduct the cost of Family Care from earnings received from work as a part of a program of Rehabilitation, subject to the following limitations:

- 1) Family Care means the care or supervision of:
  - a) Your children under age 13; or
  - b) a member of Your household who is mentally or physically handicapped and dependent upon You for support and maintenance;
- 2) the maximum monthly deduction allowed for each qualifying child or family member is:
  - a) \$350 during the first 12 months of Rehabilitation; and
  - b) \$175 thereafter;
  - but in no event may the deduction exceed the amount of Your monthly earnings;
- 3) Family Care Credits may not exceed a total of \$2,500 during a calendar year;
- 4) the deduction will be reduced proportionally for periods of less than a month;
- 5) the charges for Family Care must be documented by a receipt from the caregiver;
- 6) the credit will cease on the first to occur of the following:
  - a) You are no longer in a Rehabilitation program; or
    - b) Family Care Credits for 24 months have been deducted during Your Disability; and
- 7) no Family Care provided by someone Related to the family member receiving the care will be eligible as a deduction under this provision.

Your Current Monthly Earnings after the deduction of Your Family Care Credit will be used to determine Your Monthly Income Loss. In no event will You be eligible to receive a Monthly Benefit under The Policy if Your Current Monthly Earnings before the deduction of the Family Care Credit exceed 80% of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings.

# **Survivor Income Benefit:** Will my survivors receive a benefit if I die while receiving Disability Benefits?

If You were receiving a Monthly Benefit at the time of Your death, We will pay a Survivor Income Benefit, when We receive proof satisfactory to Us:

- 1) of Your death; and
- 2) that the person claiming the benefit is entitled to it.

We must receive the satisfactory proof for Survivor Income Benefits within 1 year of the date of Your death.

The Survivor Income Benefit will only be paid:

- 1) to Your Surviving Spouse; or
- 2) if no Surviving Spouse, in equal shares to Your Surviving Children.

If there is no Surviving Spouse or Surviving Children, then no benefit will be paid.

However, We will first apply the Survivor Income Benefit to any overpayment which may exist on Your claim.

If a minor child is entitled to benefits, We may, at Our option, make benefit payments to the person caring for and supporting the child until a legal guardian is appointed.

The Survivor Income Benefit is calculated as 3 times the lesser of:

- 1) Your Monthly Income Loss multiplied by the Benefit Percentage in effect on the date of Your death; or
- 2) The Maximum Monthly Benefit.

Surviving Spouse means Your spouse who was not legally separated or divorced from You when You died.

**Surviving Children** means Your unmarried children, step children, legally adopted children who, on the date You die, are primarily dependent on You for support and maintenance and who are under age 25.

The term Surviving Children will also include any other children related to You by blood or marriage and who:

- 1) lived with You in a regular parent-child relationship; and
- 2) were eligible to be claimed as dependents on Your federal income tax return for the last tax year prior to Your death.

# **Workplace Modification Benefit:** Will the Rehabilitation program provide for modifications to my workplace to accommodate my return to work?

We will reimburse Your Employer for the expense of reasonable Workplace Modifications to accommodate Your Disability and enable You to return to work as an Active Employee. You qualify for this benefit if:

- 1) Your Disability is covered by The Policy;
- 2) the Employer agrees to make modifications to the workplace in order to reasonably accommodate Your return to work and the performance of the Essential Duties of Your job; and
- 3) We approve, in writing, any proposed Workplace Modifications.

Benefits paid for such Workplace Modification shall not exceed \$25,000.

We have the right, at Our expense, to have You examined or evaluated by:

- 1) a Physician or other health care professional; or
- 2) a vocational expert or rehabilitation specialist;

of Our choice so that We may evaluate the appropriateness of any proposed modification.

We will reimburse the Employer's costs for approved Workplace Modifications after:

- 1) the proposed modifications made on Your behalf are complete;
- 2) We have been provided written proof of the expenses incurred to provide such modification; and
- 3) You have returned to work as an Active Employee.

**Workplace Modification** means change in Your work environment, or in the way a job is performed, to allow You to perform, while Disabled, the Essential Duties of Your job. Payment of this benefit will not reduce or deny any benefit You are eligible to receive under the terms of The Policy.

# **EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS**

# Exclusions: What Disabilities are not covered?

The Policy does not cover, and We will not pay a benefit for, any Disability:

- 1) unless You are under the Regular Care of a Physician;
- 2) that is caused or contributed to by war or act of war, whether declared or not;
- 3) caused by Your commission of or attempt to commit a felony;
- 4) caused or contributed to by Your being engaged in an illegal occupation; or
- 5) caused or contributed to by an intentionally self-inflicted injury.

If You are receiving or are eligible for benefits for a Disability under a prior disability plan that:

- 1) was sponsored by Your Employer; and
- 2) was terminated before the Effective Date of The Policy;

no benefits will be payable for the Disability under The Policy.

# Pre-existing Condition Limitation: Are benefits limited for Pre-existing Conditions?

We will not pay any benefit, or any increase in benefits, under The Policy for any Disability that results from, or is caused or contributed to by, a Pre-existing Condition, unless, at the time You become Disabled:

- 1) You have not received Medical Care for the condition for 3 consecutive month(s) while insured under The Policy; or
- 2) You have been continuously insured under The Policy for 12 consecutive month(s).

**Pre-existing Condition** means any accidental bodily injury, sickness, Mental Illness, pregnancy, episode of Substance Abuse or symptoms thereof, for which You received Medical Care during the 3 consecutive month period that ends the day before:

- 1) Your effective date of coverage; or
- 2) the effective date of a Change in Coverage.

Medical Care is received when a Physician or other health care provider:

- 1) is consulted or gives medical advice; or
- 2) recommends, prescribes, or provides Treatment.

**Treatment** includes but is not limited to:

- 1) medical examinations, tests, attendance or observation; and
- 2) use of drugs, medicines, medical services, supplies or equipment.

# **GENERAL PROVISIONS**

# Notice of Claim: When should I notify the Company of a claim?

You must give Us written notice of a claim within 30 days after Disability or loss occurs. Failure to give notice within such time shall not invalidate or reduce any claim if it shall be shown not to have been reasonably possible to give such notice and that notice was given as soon as was reasonably possible. Such notice must include Your name, Your address and the Policy Number.

# Claim Forms: Are special forms required to file a claim?

We will send forms to You to provide Proof of Loss, within 15 days of receiving a Notice of Claim. If We do not send the forms within 15 days, You may submit any other written proof which fully describes the nature and extent of Your claim.

# **Proof of Loss:** What is Proof of Loss?

Proof of Loss may include but is not limited to the following:

- 1) documentation of:
  - a) the date Your Disability began;
  - b) the cause of Your Disability;
  - c) the prognosis of Your Disability;
  - d) Your Pre-disability Earnings, Current Monthly Earnings or any income, including but not limited to copies of Your filed and signed federal and state tax returns; and
  - e) evidence that You are under the Regular Care of a Physician;
- 2) any and all medical information, including x-ray films and photocopies of medical records, including histories,
- physical, mental or diagnostic examinations and treatment notes;
- 3) the names and addresses of all:
  - a) Physicians or other qualified medical professionals You have consulted;
  - b) hospitals or other medical facilities in which You have been treated; and
  - c) pharmacies which have filled Your prescriptions within the past three years;
- 4) Your signed authorization for Us to obtain and release:
  - a) medical, employment and financial information; and
  - b) any other information We may reasonably require;
- 5) disclosure of all information and documentation required by Us relating to Other Income Benefits;
- 6) proof that You and Your dependents have applied for all Other Income Benefits which are available; and
- 7) disclosure of all information and documentation required by Us in order to exercise Our Reimbursement rights.

You will not be required to claim any retirement benefits which You may only get on a reduced basis. All proof submitted must be satisfactory to Us.

# Additional Proof of Loss: What Additional Proof of Loss is the Company entitled to?

To assist Us in determining if You are Disabled, or to determine if You meet any other term or condition of The Policy, We have the right to require You to:

- 1) meet and interview with Our representative; and
- 2) be examined by a Physician, vocational expert, functional expert, or other medical or vocational professional of Our choice.

Any such interview, meeting or examination will be:

- 1) at Our expense; and
- 2) as reasonably required by Us.

Your Additional Proof of Loss must be satisfactory to Us. Unless We determine You have a valid reason for refusal, We may deny, suspend or terminate Your benefits if You refuse to be examined or meet to be interviewed by Our representative.

# Sending Proof of Loss: When must Proof of Loss be given?

Written Proof of Loss must be sent to Us within 90 days following the completion of the Elimination Period. If proof is not given by the time it is due, it will not affect the claim if:

- 1) it was not reasonably possible to give proof within the required time; and
- 2) proof is given as soon as reasonably possible; but
- 3) not later than 1 year after it is due, unless You are not legally competent.

We may request Proof of Loss throughout Your Disability, as reasonably required. In such cases, We must receive the proof within 30 day(s) of the request.

# Claim Payment: When are benefit payments issued?

When We determine that You;

- 1) are Disabled; and
- 2) eligible to receive benefits;

We will pay accrued benefits at the end of each month that You are Disabled. We may, at Our option, make an advance benefit payment based on Our estimated duration of Your Disability. If any payment is due after a claim is terminated, it will be paid as soon as Proof of Loss satisfactory to Us is received.

Benefits may be subject to interest payments as required by applicable law.

# Claims to be Paid: To whom will benefits for my claim be paid?

All payments are payable to You. Any payments owed at Your death may be paid to Your estate. If any payment is owed to:

- 1) Your estate;
- 2) a person who is a minor; or
- 3) a person who is not legally competent;

then We may pay up to \$1,000 to a person who is Related to You and who, at Our sole discretion, is entitled to it. Any such payment shall fulfill Our responsibility for the amount paid.

# Claim Denial: What notification will I receive if my claim is denied?

If a claim for benefits is wholly or partly denied, You will be furnished with written notification of the decision. This written notification will:

- 1) give the specific reason(s) for the denial;
- 2) make specific reference to The Policy provisions on which the denial is based;
- 3) provide a description of any additional information necessary to perfect a claim and an explanation of why it is necessary; and
- 4) provide an explanation of the review procedure.

# Claim Appeal: What recourse do I have if my claim is denied?

- On any claim, You or Your representative may appeal to Us for a full and fair review. To do so You:
  - 1) must request a review upon written application within:
    - a) 180 days of receipt of claim denial if the claim requires Us to make a determination of disability; or
    - b) 60 days of receipt of claim denial if the claim does not require Us to make a determination of disability; and
  - 2) may request copies of all documents, records, and other information relevant to Your claim; and
  - 3) may submit written comments, documents, records and other information relating to Your claim.

We will respond to You in writing with Our final decision on the claim.

# Social Security: When must I apply for Social Security Benefits?

You must apply for Social Security disability benefits when the length of Your Disability meets the minimum duration required to apply for such benefits. You must apply within 45 days from the date of Our request. If the Social Security Administration denies Your eligibility for benefits, You will be required:

- 1) to follow the process established by the Social Security Administration to reconsider the denial; and
- 2) if denied again, to request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge of the Office of Hearing and Appeals.

# **Plan Offered by a State or Municipal Government:** When must I apply for benefits under a plan offered by a state or municipal government?

You must apply for disability benefits under a plan offered by a state or municipal government, such as those offered by a public employee retirement system or state teacher retirement system, when the length of Your Disability meets the minimum duration required to apply for such benefits and You are eligible under the plan. You must apply within 45 days

from the date of Our request. If the administrator of that alternative plan denies Your eligibility for benefits, You will be required to follow the process established by the administrator to reconsider the denial.

# **Benefit Estimates:** How does the Company estimate Disability benefits under the United States Social Security Act or an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government?

We reserve the right to reduce Your Monthly Benefit by estimating the Social Security disability benefits, or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government, that You or Your spouse and children may be eligible to receive.

When We determine that You or Your dependent may be eligible for benefits, We may estimate the amount of these benefits. We may reduce Your Monthly Benefit by the estimated amount.

Your Monthly Benefit will not be reduced by estimated Social Security disability benefits nor disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government if:

- You apply for Social Security disability benefits, or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government if applicable, and pursue all required appeals in accordance with the Social Security and Plan Offered by a State or Municipal Government provisions; and
- 2) You have signed a form authorizing the Social Security Administration, or the administrator of the alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government if applicable, to release information about awards directly to Us; and
- 3) You have signed and returned Our reimbursement agreement, which confirms that You agree to repay all overpayments.

If We have reduced Your Monthly Benefit by an estimated amount and:

- You or Your dependent are later awarded Social Security disability benefits, or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government, We will adjust Your Monthly Benefit when We receive proof of the amount awarded, and determine if it was higher or lower than Our estimate; or
- 2) Your application for Social Security disability benefits, or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government, has been denied, We will adjust Your Monthly Benefit when You provide Us proof of final denial from which You cannot appeal from an Administrative Law Judge of the Office of Hearing and Appeals, or similar level under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government when available.

If Your Social Security benefits or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government were lower than We estimated, and We owe You a refund, We will make such refund in a lump sum. If Your Social Security benefits or disability benefits under an alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government were higher than We estimated, and if Your Monthly Benefit has been overpaid, You must make a lump sum refund to Us equal to all overpayments, in accordance with the Overpayment Recovery provision.

# **Overpayment:** When does an overpayment occur?

An overpayment occurs:

- 1) when We determine that the total amount We have paid in benefits is more than the amount that was due to You under The Policy; or
- 2) when payment is made by Us that should have been made under another group policy.

This includes, but is not limited to, overpayments resulting from:

- 1) retroactive awards received from sources listed in the Other Income Benefits definition;
- 2) failure to report, or late notification to Us of any Other Income Benefit(s) or earned income;
- 3) misstatement;
- 4) fraud; or
- 5) any error We may make.

# Overpayment Recovery: How does the Company exercise the right to recover overpayments?

We have the right to recover from You any amount that We determine to be an overpayment. You have the obligation to refund to Us any such amount. Our rights and Your obligations in this regard may also be set forth in the reimbursement agreement You will be required to sign when You become eligible for benefits under The Policy.

If benefits are overpaid on any claim, You must reimburse Us within 30 days.

If reimbursement is not made in a timely manner, We have the right to:

- 1) recover such overpayments from:
  - a) You;

- b) any other organization;
- c) any other insurance company;
- d) any other person to or for whom payment was made; and
- e) Your estate;
- 2) reduce or offset against any future benefits payable to You or Your survivors, including the Minimum Monthly Benefit, until full reimbursement is made. Payments may continue when the overpayment has been recovered;
- 3) refer Your unpaid balance to a collection agency; and
- 4) pursue and enforce all legal and equitable rights in court.

# Reimbursement: What are Our reimbursement rights?

We have the right to be reimbursed for any benefit payments made or required to be made under The Policy for a Disability for which You recover any funds from a Third Party.

If You recover any funds from a Third Party as:

- 1) a legal judgment;
- 2) an arbitration award; or
- 3) a settlement or otherwise;

You or Your attorney shall hold in constructive trust the lesser of:

- 1) the entire amount of the benefit payment(s) made or required to be made by Us; or
- 2) the total amount of the recovered funds;

less Our pro rata share of any reasonable attorneys' fees and court costs associated with the recovered funds. We have the right of first reimbursement if the total amount of the recovered funds exceeds the sum of all of Your economic and noneconomic losses incurred, excluding the losses for which we have made or are required to make benefit payments.

We have this right regardless of whether the particular funds recovered are still in Your possession. However, the amount which you must reimburse us is limited to the amount allocated in the settlement documents or judgment to the losses for which we have made or are required to make benefit payments.

By accepting benefit payment(s) under The Policy, You:

- 1) agree to cooperate fully with Our reimbursement rights, including disclosure of all information and documentation required by Us in order to exercise Our reimbursement rights; and
- 2) will not do anything to prejudice Our reimbursement rights.

You or Your attorney's failure to cooperate fully with Our reimbursement rights may result in denial or termination of Your benefits under The Policy.

Third Party as used in this provision, means:

- 1) any person or legal entity whose act or omission, in full or in part, causes You to suffer a Disability for which benefits are paid or payable under The Policy; or
- 2) any insurer, including Your own, that provides benefits to You as a result of the act or omission which causes You to suffer a Disability for which benefits are paid or payable under The Policy.

# Legal Actions: When can legal action be taken against Us?

Legal action cannot be taken against Us:

- 1) sooner than 60 days after the date Proof of Loss is given; or
- 2) more than 3 years after the date Proof of Loss is required to be given according to the terms of The Policy.

# **Insurance Fraud:** How does the Company deal with fraud?

Insurance Fraud occurs when You and/or Your Employer provide Us with false information or file a claim for benefits that contains any false, incomplete or misleading information with the intent to injure, defraud or deceive Us. It is a crime if You and/or Your Employer commit Insurance Fraud. We will use all means available to Us to detect, investigate, deter and prosecute those who commit Insurance Fraud. We will pursue all available legal remedies if You and/or Your Employer perpetrate Insurance Fraud.

# Misstatements: What happens if facts are misstated?

- If material facts about You were not stated accurately:
  - 1) Your premium may be adjusted; and
  - 2) the true facts will be used to determine if, and for what amount, coverage should have been in force.

No statement, except fraudulent misstatements, made by You relating to Your insurability will be used to contest the insurance for which the statement was made after the insurance has been in force for two years during Your lifetime. In order to be used, the statement must be in writing and signed by You.

All statements made by the Policyholder, the Employer or You under The Policy will be deemed representations and not warranties. No statement made to affect this insurance will be used in any contest unless it is in writing and a copy of it is given to the person who made it, or to his or her beneficiary or Your representative.

# Policy Interpretation: Who interprets the terms and conditions of The Policy?

We have full discretion and authority to determine eligibility for benefits and to construe and interpret all terms and provisions of The Policy.

# Physical Examinations and Autopsy: Will I be examined during the course of my claim?

While a claim is pending We have the right at Our expense:

- 1) to have the person who has a loss examined by a Physician when and as often as reasonably necessary; and
- 2) to make an autopsy in case of death where it is not forbidden by law.

# DEFINITIONS

Actively at Work means at work with the Employer on a day that is one of the Employer's scheduled workdays. On that day, You must be performing for wage or profit all of the regular duties of Your Occupation:

- 1) in the usual way; and
- 2) for Your usual number of hours.

We will consider You Actively at Work on a day that is not a scheduled work day only if You were Actively at Work on the preceding scheduled work day.

Active Employee means an employee who works for the Employer on a regular basis in the usual course of the Employer's business. This must be at least the number of hours shown in the Schedule of Insurance.

Any Occupation means any occupation for which You are qualified by education, training or experience, and that has an earnings potential greater than the lesser of:

- 1) the product of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings and the Benefit Percentage; or
- 2) the Maximum Monthly Benefit.

Current Monthly Earnings means monthly earnings You receive from:

- 1) Your Employer; and
- 2) other employment;

while You are Disabled.

However, if the other employment is a job You held in addition to Your job with Your Employer, then during any period that You are entitled to benefits for being Disabled from Your Occupation, only the portion of Your earnings that exceeds Your average earnings from the other employer over the 6 month period just before You became Disabled will count as Current Monthly Earnings.

Current Monthly Earnings also includes the pay You could have received for another job or a modified job if:

- 1) such job was offered to You by Your Employer, or another employer, and You refused the offer; and
- 2) the requirements of the position were consistent with:
  - a) Your education, training and experience; and
  - b) Your capabilities as medically substantiated by Your Physician.

Disability or Disabled means You are prevented from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of:

- 1) Your Occupation during the Elimination Period;
- 2) Your Occupation, for the 24 months following the Elimination Period, and as a result Your Current Monthly Earnings are less than 80% of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings; and
- 3) after that, Any Occupation.

If at the end of the Elimination Period, You are prevented from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of Your Occupation, but Your Current Monthly Earnings are equal to or greater than 80% of Your Pre-disability Earnings, Your Elimination Period will be extended for a total period of 12 months from the original date of Disability, or until such time as Your Current Monthly Earnings are less than 80% of Your Pre-disability Earnings, whichever occurs first. For the purposes of extending Your Elimination Period, Your Current Monthly Earnings will not include the pay You could have received for another job or a modified job if such job was offered to You by Your Employer, or another employer, and You refused the offer.

Your Disability must result from:

- 1) accidental bodily injury;
- 2) sickness;
- 3) Mental Illness;
- 4) Substance Abuse; or
- 5) pregnancy.

Your failure to pass a physical examination required to maintain a license to perform the duties of Your Occupation, alone, does not mean that You are Disabled.

**Elimination Period** means the longer of the number of consecutive days at the beginning of any one period of Disability which must elapse before benefits are payable or the expiration of any Employer sponsored short term disability benefits or salary continuation program, excluding benefits required by state law.

Employer means the Policyholder.

Essential Duty means a duty that:

- 1) is substantial, not incidental;
- 2) is fundamental or inherent to the occupation; and
- 3) cannot be reasonably omitted or changed.

Your ability to work the number of hours in Your regularly scheduled workweek is an Essential Duty.

Indexed Pre-disability Earnings means Your Pre-disability Earnings adjusted annually by adding the lesser of:

- 1) 10%; or
- 2) the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI-W).

The percentage change in the CPI-W means the difference between the current year's CPI-W as of July 31, and the prior year's CPI-W as of July 31, divided by the prior year's CPI-W. The adjustment is made January 1st each year after You have been Disabled for 12 consecutive month(s), provided You are receiving benefits at the time the adjustment is made.

The term Consumer Price Index (CPI-W) means the index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers published by the United States Department of Labor. It measures on a periodic (usually monthly) basis the change in the cost of typical urban wage earners' and clerical workers' purchase of certain goods and services. If the index is discontinued or changed, We may use another nationally published index that is comparable to the CPI-W.

**Mental Illness** means a mental disorder as listed in the current version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Association. A Mental Illness may be caused by biological factors or result in physical symptoms or manifestations.

For the purpose of The Policy, Mental Illness does not include the following mental disorders outlined in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders:

- 1) Mental Retardation;
- 2) Pervasive Developmental Disorders;
- 3) Motor Skills Disorder;
- 4) Substance-Related Disorders;
- 5) Delirium, Dementia, and Amnesic and Other Cognitive Disorders; or
- 6) Narcolepsy and Sleep Disorders related to a General Medical Condition.

Monthly Benefit means a monthly sum payable to You while You are Disabled, subject to the terms of The Policy.

Monthly Income Loss means Your Pre-disability Earnings minus Your Current Monthly Earnings.

**Other Income Benefits** means the amount of any benefit for loss of income, provided to You or Your family, as a result of the period of Disability for which You are claiming benefits under The Policy. This includes any such benefits for which You or Your family are eligible or that are paid to You or Your family, or to a third party on Your behalf, pursuant to any:

- 1) temporary, permanent disability, or impairment benefits under a Workers' Compensation Law, the Jones Act, occupational disease law, similar law or substitutes or exchanges for such benefits;
- 2) governmental law or program that provides disability or unemployment benefits as a result of Your job with Your Employer;
- plan or arrangement of coverage, whether insured or not, which is received from Your Employer as a result of employment by or association with Your Employer or which is the result of membership in or association with any group, association, union or other organization;
- 4) mandatory "no-fault" automobile insurance plan;
- 5) disability benefits under:
  - a) the United States Social Security Act or alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government;
  - b) the Railroad Retirement Act;
  - c) the Canada Pension Plan, the Canada Old Age Security Act, the Quebec Pension Plan or any provincial pension or disability plan; or
  - d) similar plan or act;
  - that You, Your spouse and/or children, are eligible to receive because of Your Disability; or
- 6) disability benefit from the Department of Veterans Affairs, or any other foreign or domestic governmental agency:
  - a) that begins after You become Disabled; or
  - b) that You were receiving before becoming Disabled, but only as to the amount of any increase in the benefit attributed to Your Disability.

Other Income Benefits also means the amount of any payments that are made to You or to Your family, or to a third party on Your behalf, pursuant to any:

- 1) disability benefit under Your Employer's Retirement Plan;
- 2) temporary, permanent disability or impairment benefits under a Workers' Compensation Law, the Jones Act, occupational disease law, similar law or substitutes or exchanges for such benefits;
- portion of a judgement or settlement of a claim or lawsuit that represents or compensates for Your loss of earnings, less Our pro rata share of any associated reasonable attorneys' fees and court costs;
- 4) retirement benefit from a Retirement Plan that is wholly or partially funded by employer contributions, unless:
  - a) You were receiving it prior to becoming Disabled; or
  - b) You immediately transfer the payment to another plan qualified by the United States Internal Revenue Service for the funding of a future retirement;

(Other Income Benefits will not include the portion, if any, of such retirement benefit that was funded by Your after-tax contributions.); or

- 5) retirement benefits under:
  - a) the United States Social Security Act or alternative plan offered by a state or municipal government;
  - b) the Railroad Retirement Act;
  - c) the Canada Pension Plan, the Canada Old Age Security Act, the Quebec Pension Plan or any provincial pension or disability plan; or
  - d) similar plan or act;

that You, Your spouse and/or children receive because of Your retirement, unless You were receiving them prior to becoming Disabled.

If You are paid Other Income Benefits in a lump sum or settlement, You must provide proof satisfactory to Us of:

- 1) the amount attributed to loss of income; and
- 2) the period of time covered by the lump sum or settlement.

We will pro-rate the lump sum or settlement over this period of time. If You cannot or do not provide this information, We will assume the entire sum to be for loss of income, and the time period to be 24 month(s). We may make a retroactive allocation of any retroactive Other Income Benefit. A retroactive allocation may result in an overpayment of Your claim.

The amount of any increase in Other Income Benefits will not be included as Other Income Benefits if such increase:

- 1) takes effect after the date benefits become payable under The Policy; and
- 2) is a general increase which applies to all persons who are entitled to such benefits.

Physician means a person who is:

1) a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, psychology or other legally qualified practitioner of a healing art that We recognize or are required by law to recognize;

- 2) licensed to practice in the jurisdiction where care is being given;
- 3) practicing within the scope of that license; and
- 4) not You or Related to You by blood or marriage.

**Pre-disability Earnings** means Your regular monthly rate of pay not counting bonuses, commissions and tips and tokens, overtime pay or any other fringe benefits or extra compensation, in effect on the last day You were Actively at Work before You became Disabled.

**Prior Policy** means the long term disability insurance carried by the Employer on the day before the Policy Effective Date.

Regular Care of a Physician means that You are being treated by a Physician:

- 1) whose medical training and clinical experience are suitable to treat Your disabling condition; and
- 2) whose treatment is:
  - a) consistent with the diagnosis of the disabling condition;
  - b) according to guidelines established by medical, research, and rehabilitative organizations; and
  - c) administered as often as needed;

to achieve the maximum medical improvement.

**Rehabilitation** means a process of Our working together with You in order for Us to plan, adapt, and put into use options and services to meet Your return to work needs. A Rehabilitation program may include, when We consider it to be appropriate, any necessary and feasible:

- 1) vocational testing;
- 2) vocational training;
- 3) alternative treatment plans such as:
  - a) support groups;
  - b) physical therapy;
  - c) occupational therapy; or
- d) speech therapy;
- 4) work-place modification to the extent not otherwise provided;
- 5) job placement;
- 6) transitional work; and
- 7) similar services.

**Related** means Your spouse, or other adult living with You, or Your sibling, parent, step-parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, son, daughter, or grandchild.

**Retirement Plan** means a defined benefit or defined contribution plan that provides benefits for Your retirement and which is not funded wholly by Your contributions. It does not include:

- 1) a profit sharing plan;
- 2) thrift, savings or stock ownership plans;
- 3) a non-qualified deferred compensation plan; or
- 4) an individual retirement account (IRA), a tax sheltered annuity (TSA), Keogh Plan, 401(k) plan, 403(b) plan or 457 deferred compensation arrangement.

**Substance Abuse** means the pattern of pathological use of alcohol or other psychoactive drugs and substances characterized by:

- 1) impairments in social and/or occupational functioning;
- 2) debilitating physical condition;
- 3) inability to abstain from or reduce consumption of the substance; or
- 4) the need for daily substance use to maintain adequate functioning.

Substance includes alcohol and drugs but excludes tobacco and caffeine.

The Policy means the policy which We issued to the Policyholder under the Policy Number shown on the face page.

We, Our, or Us means the insurance company named on the face page of The Policy.

**Your Occupation** means Your Occupation as it is recognized in the general workplace. Your Occupation does not mean the specific job You are performing for a specific employer or at a specific location.

You or Your means the person to whom this certificate is issued.

The Plan Described in this Booklet is Insured by the

Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company Hartford, Connecticut Member of The Hartford Insurance Group