Chatham County ~ Department of Building Safety & Regulatory Services

Occupational Tax Division ~ P.O. Box 8161, Savannah, GA 31412-8161

Physical Address: 1117 Eisenhower Drive, Suite D, Savannah GA 31406

Office: 912-201-4300 | Fax 912-201-4301 | Website: https:/buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

Prorated (New) Occupational
Tax Application

Acceptance of payment by Chatham County does not constitute final approval of the business tax application. This application is subject to all necessary

Occupational Tax Certificate Number: Calendar Year:

NAICS Code: Classification: Class:

1. Business Location: Property Identification Number (PIN):

[Existing Building [New Building [JHome Based (Complete Homeowner’s Affidavity [INo Local Office
OWoman Owned  [JMinority Owned [JMobile Home Park
2. Applying Applicant’s Information:

Name:
Your relationship with this business: [0 Manager 0 Officer [ Registered Agent 0 Sole Owner [ Partner(s)
Contact Phone: Cell Phone: Email:
Date of Birth: Sex: Race: Social Security/Fed. Tax |.D.#:
Driver’s License Number State: Georgia Sales Tax I.D. #

Have you ever been arrested? [Yes [ONo If Yes, give date and offense:

3. Business Information: 0 Individual 0 Corporation (INC., LLC) 0O Partnership

Corporate Name:

Advertised Business Name:
Business Address: City State: Zip Code:
Business Phone: Other Phone: Email:

4. Mailing Address: City: State: Zip:

5. Type of Business:
Dominant Activity Secondary Activity

6. E-Verify # or Exempt []

7. [J 1 Elect to pay a $400 Flat Tax in Lieu of Reporting profitability ratio bracket and paying a tax based on profitability ratio.

Certain PRACTITIONERS OF THE PROFESSIONS may elect to pay $400 Per Practitioner in lieu of reporting and paying a tax on profitability ratio. Check the list of professions on
the back of this form to determine eligibility for this option. If you are eligible, and if you and all members of your firm elect to pay the flat Per-Practitioner tax this year, check below
submit your payment with this return. (attorney, physicians, chiropractor, dentist, landscape architect, psychologist, veterinarian, osteopath, optometrist, podiatrist, social
worker, professional counsel, and marriage and family therapist). Must Provide current State of Georgia Professional license for each Practitioner.

Number of Practitioners

Fee Amount From Tax schedule $
8. Enter Number from
Tax Schedule Late Fee addthe greater of $25 or 10% fee from tax schedule ~$
BRACKET # $
Estimate projected gross income for
the first year to determine fees. Total Amount Due: $

I, the undersigned applicant, hereby register said business to operate within unincorporated Chatham County limits, and certify | am the person authorized by the
business herein named to file this application, including any accompanying documents. | further certify that all statements and information provided on and with this
application is true, correct, and complete.

Signature of Applying Applicant Application Date


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETING THIS BUSINESS TAX APPLICATION

This is a multi-purpose form, to be used for applying for a new business tax certificate or amend a previously filled business tax application in unincorporated
Chatham County. Check the appropriate box at the top of the form. Business Tax Renewals must be paid by March 1%t annually to avoid a penalty. Business owners
are responsible for ensuring their business tax licenses are renewed annually regardless of the US Postal System.

1. The Property Identification Number (PIN) is required to process your application.

2. Provide your legal name, which must be your individual name and not the name of a business or organization.

3. Enter the street address where your business is physically located. The definition of business location does not include a temporary work site which serves a
single customer of project.

4. Provide mailing address if different from business address.

5. Enter the dominant activity of your business. The dominant business activity is defined as the activity which is the major source of income of the business that
conducts multiple activities. Such dominant business activity represents the largest percentage of business revenue but may not represent most of the revenue. Your
business will be classified according to the dominant activity. Enter secondary activities of your business that are not considered in the dominant business activity.

6. E-Verify: Georgia law, O.C.G.A. § 36-60-6, requires all businesses with more than ten (10) employees, who are seeking an occupational tax certificate/business
license or other document required to operate a business with a county or city to sign an affidavit attesting that they are registered for and use E-Verify. If you need
assistance in completing the registration process or need additional information relating to E-Verify, call their customer service number at 1-888-464-4218, email them
at E-Verify@dhs.gov or visit their website at http://www.dhs.gov/e-verify.

7. Flat Tax in Lieu of Reporting Profitability Ratio Bracket. Under State law, each person engaged in the practice of a profession as described in O.C.G.A. §
48-13-9 (c) (1)through (18); Such professional practitioners are as follows: attorney; physician; osteopath; chiropractor; podiatrist; dentist; optometrist; psychologist;
veterinarian; landscape architect; marriage and family therapist, social worker, and professional counselor. If you are a professional practitioner who is eligible for this
option, and if you and all members of your firm elect to pay the flat per- practitioner tax this year, check the block on this line and submit your $400 tax payment. If
this option is taken, each practicing professional in your firm must also submit a business tax return and pay the per-practitioner fee OR your firm may file one return,
attach a list of practicing professionals, and pay a tax totaling $400 per professional. If you and your firm elect to pay a business tax based on gross receipts; your
firm must list all practitioners and attach the list to a single business tax return for the firm.

8. Your estimated gross receipts will determine the initial year’s business tax due. Enter inthis blockthe bracket numberfrom the enclosed Business Tax Schedule which
represents the estimated gross receipts for the first year. If your business will only be in operation for a portion of the year, annualize your actual gross receipts by
dividing the estimated gross receipts by the number of months left inthis year.

Signature Block: The person who is authorized by your business to submit this return form must sign the form and enter his/her title.

INCLUSIONS: Gross receipts mean the total revenue of the occupation, business, or practitioner for the period, including but not limited to the following:
Total Income, whether produced from inside or outside Chatham County, unless the business or practitioner has already paid a business tax on the
income produced outside Chatham County;

Total income without deduction for cost of goods or expenses incurred;

Gain from trading the stocks, bonds, or capitol assets or instruments of indebtedness;

Proceeds from commissions on the sale of property, goods, or services;

Proceeds from fees for services rendered; and

Proceeds from rent, interest, royalty, or dividend income.

EXCLUSIONS: Gross receipts shall not include the following:

Sales, use, or excise tax;

Sales returns, allowances, and discounts;

Proceeds from sales to customers outside of Georgia;

Payments made to a subcontractor or an independent agent for services which contributed to the gross receipts issue;

Gross Income on alcoholic beverage sales covered by an alcohol license;

Inter-organizational sales of transfers between or among the units of a parent-subsidiary controlled group of corporations as defined by 26 U.S.C.
1563 (a)(1), or between or among the units of a brother-sister controlled group of corporations as defined by 26 U.S.C. 1563 (a)(2);

Governmental and foundation grants, charitable contribution, or interest income derived form such funds received by a nonprofit organization which
employs salaried practitioners otherwise covered if such funds constitute 80% or more or the organization’s receipts.

Refer to the Business Tax Schedule for your Business Tax by Profitability Class and enter the tax amount for the gross receipts Bracket identified on 14 above.
Obtain the Profitability Class from the Occupational Tax Clerk for your Dominant Business Activity. (For renewal tax returns, if the renewal fee is paid or postmarked
after March 1, add a delinquent payment penalty of the greater of $25 or 10% of the tax amount due.)

Regulatory Fees: Any business of the type listed below operating within the unincorporated limits of Chatham County shall pay a regulatory fee in lieu of a business
tax to Chatham County or other jurisdiction: Auctioneer, Drug Paraphernalia, Escort Service, Fortune Teller, Massage Therapist, Massage Parlor, and Mobile Home
Park. See Clerk for Regulatory fee. Section §16-132

Prorated Business Tax: New tax certificates issued between July 1 and December 31, shall have Business Tax prorated to one-half (%) of the yearly rate.
Regulatory fees and businesses designated as seasonal are not proratable.

Seasonal Business: Certain type businesses that are normally conducted for only a portion of the year. Businesses that are recognized as seasonal will not be
required to renew their tax certificate by the yearly deadline; will have no proration of fees, and no late penalty. These include, but not limited to: Firewood sales, Ice
Cream trucks, Fruit & Vegetables (from stand or vehicle), Tax Preparation services, Chimney Sweeping or Cleaning. Cut Flowers & House Plants (from cart or
stand), and Christmas Tree & Pumpkin sales.

NOTICE: YOUR FINANCIAL RECORDS ARE SUBJECT TO AUDIT, AND MUST BE MADE AVAILABLE IN CHATHAM COUNTY IFREQUESTEDBYTHE

FINANCEORBUILDING SAFETY AND REGULATORY SERVICES DEPARTMENTS. APPLICATIONS ARE SUBJECT TO REVIEW FOR ZONING
COMPLIANCE, AND TO REVIEW FOR COMPLIANCE WITH OTHER REQUIREMENTS OF STATE LAW AND COUNTY ORDINANCE.


mailto:E-Verify@dhs.gov
http://www.dhs.gov/e-verify

Chatham County ~ Department of Building Safety & Regulatory Services

Occupational Tax Division ~ P.O. Box 8161, Savannah, GA 31412-8161

Physical Address: 1117 Eisenhower Drive, Suite D, Savannah GA 31406

Office: 912-201-4300 | Fax 912-201-4301 | Website: https:/buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

******************************************O F F I C IAL U S E O N LY******************************************

Zoning Approval:

This location [Is Ols NOT properly zoned for the proposed business use.  Zoning District

If not, please explain:

Zoning Administrator: Date:

*kkkkkkk *hkkk *% Fkkkk *kk *kkkkkkkkk *kkk *kkkk

Fire Approval:

This proposed business & location ['Does [IDoes NOT meet the Chatham County Local Ordinances.
If Not, please explain:

Occupancy Load

Fire Inspector: Date:

xxxxxx *kk F*kkkkkkk *kkkkkkkkk *kkkkkkhkkkkkkkdhkkkhrk *kkkkkkkkkkkhkkkkk *kkkkkkkkk *

Police Approval:

Any previous complaints from CCPD: [Yes [ONo  Criminal Background Record: [ Yes [0 No

If Yes, please explain:

This business and/or applicant: [ Is [J Is NOT approved by CCPD.

Police Department: Date:

Revised 08/22/2024


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

CHATHAM COUNTY
OCCUPATIONAL TAX APPLICATION
REQUIREMENTS

The following documentation will be required before your application can be approved and processed.

{X} P.I.N. [Property Identification Number]: Found on your property tax bill or call the
Tax Assessors Office: (912) 652-7271 https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

{X} Proof of Location: Signed lease, utility bill, mortgage note, and/or letter of authorization (along with utility bill)
from homeowner, etc. (In applicant’s/business name)

{X} Copy of Driver’s License / State ID/ Passport

{X} Notarized Affidavit Verifying Status for County Public Benefit Application

{X} Notarized Private Employer Affidavit (E-Verify):

{ } Homeowner’s Affidavit: Required for ALL Home Base Businesses

{X} Proof of Chatham County Fire Fee:

{ } Proof of Gross Receipts (Renewal Requirement):

{ } State License: Required for ALL State Regulated Professions

{X} Incorporation Certificate: Required if business is Incorporated or LLC (Certificate Page Only)

{ } Food Service Permit: Contact Health Department (912) 356-2160 - (All Prepared & Mobile Food Services)

{ } Dept. of Agriculture: If required, contact (800)282.5852 (seafood, meat, food cottages, fruit & vegetables, live plants, pet dealer)

{} Change of Ownership: Required for business ownership change. Must be completed by previous owner.

*CASHIER CLOSES AT 4:00 P.M. DAILY - NO CASH PAYMENTS OVER $150.00 ACCEPTED

Building Safety website: https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/ Occupational Tax Phone: (912) 201-4302

GA Sales Tax: Department of Revenue (912) 748-5199 or https://dor.georgia.gov/taxes/business-taxes/sales-use-tax

Corporation Information: GA Secretary of State (404) 656-2817 https://sos.ga.gov/

Police Department: Approval required before business tax certificate may be issued for certain business classifications,
including, but not limited to: Alcoholic beverages, Sunday sales, Escort or Dating service, Gun sales, Pawn brokers, Loan or
Mortgage brokers, Detective Agency or Security Guard Service, All transient merchant & peddlers, gold, and precious metal
dealers, etc.


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/
https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/
https://dor.georgia.gov/taxes/business-taxes/sales-use-tax
https://sos.ga.gov/

OCCUPATIONAL TAX SCHEDULE

The business tax amounts (Includes a $75 base tax) for the various brackets or ranges of gross receipts in each profitability
class are shown below: If renewed after March 1%, include late fee.

Business Tax by Profitability Class A - F
E

Bracket Base Rates Range in Dollars A B C D =
# Gross Receipts .00047 .00057 .00067 .00077 .00087 .00097
1 $0 - $30,000 $41 $42 $42.50 $43 $44 $44.50
2 $30,001 - $100,000 52.50 56 59 62.50 65.50 69
3 $100,001 - $200,000 72.50 80 87.50 95 102.50 110
4 $200,001 - $300,000 96 108.50 121 133.50 146 158
5 $300,001 - $500,000 131.50 151.50 171.50 191.50 211.50 231.50
6 $500,001 - $750,000 184 215.5 246.50 278 309 340.50
7 $750,001 - $1,000,000 243 287 330.50 374 418 437.50
8 $1,000,001 - 2,000,000 390 465 540 615 690 765
9 $2,000,001 - 3,000,000 625 750 862.50 1,000 1125 1,250
10 $3,000,001 - 4,000,000 860 1,035 1210 1,385 1,560 1,735
11 $4,000,001 - 5,000,000 1,095 1,320 1545 1,770 1,995 2,220
12 $5,000,001 - 6,000,000 1,330 1,605 1,880 2,155 2,430 2,705
13 $6,000,001 - 8,000,000 1,682.50 | 2,032.50 | 2,382.50 | 2,732.50 | 3,082.50 | 3,432.50
14 $8,000,001 - 10,000,000 2,152.50 | 2,602.50 | 3,052.50 | 3,502.50 | 3,952.50 | 4,402.50
15 $10,000,001 and over 2,387.50 | 2,887.50 | 3,387.50 | 3,887.50 | 4,387.50 | 4,887.50

ALL business licenses expire on December 315,

Calculating License Fees

1. New Businesses determine your gross receipt bracket by estimating the income for the coming Tax Year. The number
to the left indicates the bracket number. Renewals: gross receipt is determined by the previous year’s gross revenue.

2. Match the Tax Profitability class (A-F) shown on the Business Tax Renewal Form with the gross receipt bracket
selected to determine fee.

Payments are received Monday - Friday from 8:00AM thru 4:00PM in the form of Cash, Check, Credit Card, or Money Order
made payable to Chatham County (No cash accepted over $150).

Revised 08/22/2024



STATE LICENSE REQUIRED (A Few Examples)

Alarm Agency — State license & Fingerprint card
Architect

Attorney

Auctioneer

Automobile Dealer, Used

Automotive Parts Dealer, Used

Barber - Shop license & Individual Barber’s license
Beautician - Shop license & Individual Cosmetologist License
Chiropractor

Contractor — Commercial & Residential

Contractor - Electrical, Electric Signs

Contractor - Low Voltage Alarm Systems

Contractor - Low Voltage Communications Systems
Contractor - Low Voltage Electrical, Unrestricted
Contractor - Fire Protection Sprinkler Systems
Contractor - Heating, Refrigeration, Air Conditioning
Contractor - Plumbing

Contractor - Prefabricated Building Erection/Installation
Counseling Service - Personal

Counselor, Marriage and Family

Day Care Center — Bright From the Start Certificate (SIC 8351, 8352, 8353, 8354)
Dentist

Exterminator, Pest Control Service

Funeral Director

Hearing Aid Dealer

Landscape Architect

Nail Salon - Salon license & Nail Tech. license

Motor Vehicle Dealer

Polygraph Examiner

Physician —

Practitioners

Private Detective

Psychologist

Professionals, as defined by State law

Real Estate Agent (Broker) -

Security Agency — State license & fingerprint card
Therapist

Veterinarian

Warehouse (O.C.G.A. 10-4-10)

ALL agencies and individuals who are REQUIRED BY LAW to obtain a State license will NOT be issued a local
license. A current State of Georgia license MUST be included with all new and renewal applications in order to obtain
a Chatham County Business occupational Tax Certificate.

Flat Tax in Lieu of Reporting Profitability Ratio Bracket. Under State law, each  person engaged in the practice of a profession
as described in O.C.G.A. § 48-13-9 (c) (1)through (18); Such professional practitioners are as follows: attorney; physician; osteopath;
chiropractor; podiatrist; dentist; optometrist; psychologist; veterinarian; landscape architect; marriage and family therapist, social worker, and
professional counselor. If you are a professional practitioner who is eligible for this option, and if you and all members of your firm elect to pay
the flat per- practitioner tax this year, check the block on this line and submit your $400 tax payment. If  this option is taken, each practicing
professional in your firm must also submit a business tax return and pay the per-practitioner fee OR your firm may file one return, attach a list
of practicing professionals, and pay a tax totaling $400 per professional. If you and your firm elect to pay a business tax based on gross receipts;
your firm must list all practitioners and attach the list to a single business tax return for the firm.



Chatham County ~ Department of Building Safety & Regulatory Services
Occupational Tax Division ~ P.O. Box 8161, Savannah, GA 31412-8161

Physical Address: 1117 Eisenhower Drive, Suite D, Savannah GA 31406

Office: 912-201-4300 | Fax 912-201-4301 | https:/buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-1(E)(2) Affidavit Verifying Status
for County Public Benefit Application

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a Chatham County Georgia
Business/Occupational Tax Certificate, Alcohol License, and Special Event as referred in O.C.G.A. § 50-
36-1, from the Department of Building Safety and Regulatory Services, the undersigned applicant
verifies ONLY one of the following with respect to my application for public benefit:

1) ___ lam a United States citizen: or;
2) ___ lam alegal permanent resident of the United States. or;
3) ___ lamaqualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality

Act with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration
agency. *My alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal
immigration agency is

A REQUIRED COPY OF ISSUED IDENTIFICATION NEEDED FOR APPROVAL, FRONT & BACK

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years or older and has provided at least
one secure and verifiable document, as required by O.C.G.A. 50-36-1(e)(1), with this affidavit. The secure
and verifiable document provided with this affidavit can be classified as

(Exam ple: state issued driver’s license, state issued identification, passport, etc.)

In making the above representation under oath, | understand that any person who knowingly and willfully
makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation
of O.C.G.A. 816-10-20, and face criminal penalties as allowed by such criminal statute.

Executed on , 20 in (City), (State)

Signature of Applicant Printed Name of Applicant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this
day of , 20 . SEAL

My Commission expires:

Notary Public Signature


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

Chatham County ~ Department of Building Safety & Regulatory Services
Occupational Tax Division ~ P.O. Box 8161, Savannah, GA 31412-8161

Physical Address: 1117 Eisenhower Drive, Suite D, Savannah GA 31406

Office: 912-201-4300 | Fax 912-201-4301 | https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

Private Employer Affidavit of Compliance Pursuant To O.C.G.A. § 36-60-6(d)

By executing this affidavit, the undersigned private employer verifies its compliance with O.C.G.A. § 36-60-6, stating
affirmatively that the individual, firm, or corporation employs more than ten (10) and has registered with and utilizes
the federal work authorization program commonly known as E-Verify, or any approved subsequent replacement
program, in accordance with the applicable provisions and deadlines established in O.C.G.A. § 13-10-90.
Furthermore, the undersigned private employer hereby attests that its federal work authorization user identification
number and date of authorization are as follows:

Please check only one:

1. On January 1st of the below-signed year, the individual, firm, or
corporation employed ten (10) or fewer employees. (EXEMPT)

2. On January 1st of the below-signed year, the individual, firm, or corporation employed
more than ten (10) employees.

Name of Private Employer (Business Name as Advertise)

Date of Authorization

(E-Verify Number)

Federal Work Authorization User Identification Number
*This is NOT your Federal Tax Identification Number

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on , 20 in (City), (State)

Signature of Authorized Officer/Agent Printed Name of Authorized Officer/Agent

Sworn to and subscribed before me this
day of , 20 . SEAL

My Commission expires:

Notary Public Signature


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

Chatham County ~ Department of Building Safety & Regulatory Services

Occupational Tax Division ~ P.O. Box 8161, Savannah, GA 31412-8161

Physical Address: 1117 Eisenhower Drive, Suite D, Savannah GA 31406

Office: 912-201-4300 | Fax 912-201-4301| Website: https:/buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

Homeowner’s Affidavit

On this day of , 20 , first being duly sworn, I,

, agree with this affidavit, relating to the business of:

Print Applicant’s Name

P.ILN:

Business Name

Business Location: City: ST: Zip:
Physical Street Address

The above named business will be conducted according to Chatham County Zoning Ordinance, Section 2-
28, Home Occupation, which states “an occupation carried on within a dwelling, occupying no more than
25% of the gross livable area of the dwelling, employing only family members residing in the home, using
only such equipment as is customarily found in the home, involving no display of articles or products or
signs, and, having no on-site storage of related supplies, materials, machinery or vehicles larger than a 3/4
ton truck kept or stored at the above location.”

Only Home Occupation activities identified in Section 2-28 of the County Zoning Ordinance shall be
allowed. The business will be conducted without customers or employees coming and going from the
above referenced location. Deviation from the perimeters of a permitted home occupation or home
business office will result in the revocation of all business tax certificates associated with the use and its
operation.

NO MATERIALS FOR THIS BUSINESS WILL BE STORED AT THIS LOCATION.

Signature of Applying Applicant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this
day of , 20 . SEAL

My Commission expires:

Notary Public Signature


https://buildingsafety.chathamcountyga.gov/

